Explore Kink Events

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Starry Gaze Cinema – The Queen Of Ireland

October 5, 2016 @ 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm UTC+10

The Queen of Ireland
Join us in the magnificent Tanks Arts Centre for the 2015 Irish film about Rory O’Neill, better known as Panti, in the lead up to the historic referendum on marriage equality for same-sex couples in Ireland.
Tickets: $15 on sale at
It is hard to imagine a less likely Irish heroine than Panti Bliss. She stands just over 2m tall in her heels, fishnets and big blonde wig; a self-described “giant cartoon woman” and “national f..king treasure”.
Panti is the drag queen alter ego of 47-year-old Rory O’Neill, who unwittingly became a catalyst for the resounding yes vote in the Irish same-sex marriage referendum. In the euphoric hours following the poll, Sinn Fein leader Gerry Adams and Ireland’s then deputy prime minister, Joan Burton, were photographed with Panti as supporters chanted her name in Dublin’s city centre. This accidental activist has since become part of Ireland’s establishment — even recording her own Queen’s Christmas message, dressed in a tweed suit and brooch.
She is indeed a national treasure.


Launch Party, The Love Boat Cruise: Fri Sept 30, 6.30pm
Love Boat After Party: Fri Sept 30, 9.30pm
Fitzroy Island Day Trip: Sat Oct 1, 8am till 4.30pm
Boyz Out Dinner: Sat Oct 1, 6.30pm
Game Show: Sat Oct 1, 6.30pm
Game After Party: Sat Oct 1, 8.30
Die Roten Punkte’s Super Musician: Sat Oct 1, 8pm
Splash Pool Party: Sun Oct 2, 2pm
Out! Octopussy Party (Splash After Party): Sun Oct 2, 9pm
Pride Picnic, Paddle and Pooches: Mon Oct 3, 9am till 1pm
Turtle Cove Beach Party: Mon Oct 3, 11am
Holding The Man, The Movie: Mon Oct 3, 7pm
Holding The Man, The Book: Sat Sept 10 till Mon Oct 10
Trans* Clothes Swap and High Tea: Tues Oct 4, 4pm
Starry Gaze Cinema: Wed Oct 5, 6pm
Barefoot Bowls: Thurs Oct 6, 5.30pm
Proud Women’s Dance: Fri Oct 7. 8pm
Gaze Art Exhibition Launch: Sat Oct 8, 6pm
‘Shade’ Drag Show: Sat Oct 8, 8pm
Fair Day: Sun Oct 9, 11am till 5pm
Sista Girls Event: TBA (contact 2 Spirit for details)


October 5, 2016
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Categories:
, , ,


Tropical Mardi Gras
0448 822 034


Tanks Arts Centre
46 Collins Ave
07 4032 6600

Shop Kink Gear

View Adult Profiles